.

Santa Is Coming to Town: Redmond Firefighters Release 2012 Schedule

The city has created a new tracking app that will allow residents to follow Kris Kringle's route through Redmond.

Jolly Ol' St. Nick is going high-tech for this year's fire-truck trek through Redmond.

Santa Claus and his helper Buddy the Elf will once again travel from neighborhood to neighborhood in an antique fire truck supplied by the Redmond Firefighters Union Local 2829

Community members are encouraged to come outside and greet Santa as he travels through their neighborhood. Volunteers on the truck will collect non-perishable food, holiday gifts and cash donations (up to $500) for Redmond-based Hopelink. 

New this year, the City of Redmond will be offering a tracking application so residents can follow Santa's route on their computers, smartphones and tablets. The application will be available starting Dec. 3 at redmond.gov/santa.

Santa's neighborhood visits will begin Dec. 7 and continue through Dec. 21, with make-up days on Dec. 22 and 23 if needed. He'll be out and about from 6:30 to 9:30 p.m. each night, but visits may be rescheduled in the event of inclement weather or mechanical problems.

For more information, call 425-556-2200.

Here is the 2012 schedule: 

Dec. 7 (Friday):  Village at Overlake Station, Southeast Redmond 
Dec. 8 (Saturday): Viewpoint North (Also 11 a.m.-2 p.m. Toys for Tots at Bartell Drugs in Bella Botega) 
Dec. 9 (Sunday):  Rivertrail Neighborhood
Dec. 10 (Monday): Central Education Hill 
Dec. 11 (Tuesday): West Education Hill 
Dec. 12 (Wed.): Trilogy (6:30 p.m.), two stops in Redmond Ridge afterward.
Dec. 13 (Thursday): North Education Hill 
Dec. 14 (Friday): Grasslawn East 
Dec. 15 (Saturday):Grasslawn West 
Dec. 16 (Sunday):  East Education Hill 
Dec. 17 (Monday):  Rose Hill South 
Dec. 18 (Tuesday): Union Hill 
Dec. 19 (Wednesday): Viewpoint South (Santa at the Kindering Foundation 9:30-11:30 a.m.)
Dec. 20 (Thursday): English Hill South 
Dec. 21 (Friday): Downtown Redmond
Dec. 22 (Saturday): make up night 
Dec. 23 (Sunday): make up night 

Nikki November 29, 2012 at 02:53 PM
Oh what a wonderful opportunity!

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »