.

Post Conventions Poll: Who Will Win the 2012 Presidential Election, Obama or Romney?

Now that the Democratic and Republican delegates have officially chosen their nominees, Redmond Patch wants to know: Who are you betting on?

It's official: With President Barack Obama's acceptance speech in Charlotte Thursday night, both the Republicans and Democrats have formally chosen their nominees for the 2012 presidential election. Let the real race begin.

A lot can change between now and Nov. 6: Gaffes, scandals or even major international news events could shift the dynamics of the campaign.

The latest Gallup Polls show registered voters preferring Obama to Mitt Romney by just one percentage point, 47 percent to 46 percent. A USA Today/Gallup poll taken just before the party conventions found American voters think Obama is more likeable, but trust Romney more to handle the economy.

Pundits have been busy for months handicapping the major-party candidates on various factors: incumbent advantage, fundraising clout, even religion.

Patch wants to know: Regardless of whom you support for president, who do you think will actually claim victory in November?

Vote in our poll below, and let us know your reasoning in the comments. Log in with your free Patch account to vote or comment.

Joanna Gandiza September 07, 2012 at 05:38 PM
I'm voting for Jimmy Buffett!! Join the ISLAND Party - facebook.com/jointheislandparty
Karl Mosier September 07, 2012 at 05:44 PM
You trust Obama with international relations when his party and himself has lied on Isreal, left Isreal out of thier platform and has done nothing to deal with Iran??? I tell you we are headed for great tumoil if this man stays in office.
Brian September 07, 2012 at 06:06 PM
The parties, being so close in the polls reminds me of the game Prez Elect USA that my kids play, where the top scoring players of the two parties are duking it out daily. Some days the Donkys are ahead, while other days the Elefants are ahead. This has turned out to be an unexpected way for my kids to learn about the electoral process. I'm hoping, they'll gain sufficient interest and vote when they're older, and not be so apathetic or discouraged about the whole process.
Merle Reboldin September 07, 2012 at 06:19 PM
i would never trust Romney if Israel was threatened. The man only cares about himself he would screw the rest of the world for an extra buck. This guy sucks and Ryan is worse. The GOP is filled with losers who inherited millions but have less business or people sense than an ant.
gayle corbin September 07, 2012 at 06:23 PM
I vote Obama!! Romney does not relate to the average American. He does not have any idea of what is is to struggle finacially and seems vacant and aloof.
dmharrell September 07, 2012 at 06:34 PM
I don't know what news reports you have been listening to, but Isreal said that Obama was the best president they ever had to support them. You sound just like all the other republicans, NO FACTS!
dmharrell September 07, 2012 at 06:39 PM
I know for a FACT that Romney and Ann lied about coming up in the middle class. I am from Michigan and his father Gov. Romney (his father) was not poor nor middle class and the son (Mitt) went to one of the most prestigious and most expensive high schools in the Detroit area. If their (Mitt and Ann) dining room table was an ironing board as she said in her convention speech, it was probably because they were waiting for their dining room set to be delivered.
carolyn September 07, 2012 at 06:43 PM
I am a member of the middle class. The Republicans have not given me one thing they plan to do that will be helpful to me. I see what has happened in the states where Republicans have taken over. They concentrate on all sorts of ways to limit rights and not at all on those issues that confront those in the middle. They have given me no reason to vote for them. I will vote for Obama.
Ken James September 07, 2012 at 07:05 PM
It seems obvious that many people here have formed their opinions based on information received from a very biased media. The vast majority of media has a liberal bias so you'll hear pro-Obama/anti-Romney stories and commentary all day. If you are interested in hearing the arguments of both sides to make an informed decision, you'll have to really work at finding a media source that presents the conservative side. I previously was a very liberal voter, but after exposure to the conservative argument, I realized that there was a real choice with real differences. I spend about half my time listening to the liberal news outlets (MSNBC, CNN) and the other half listening to conservative news (Fox). It's very interesting to hear both sides of the important issues which you won't get listening to only type of media. If nothing else, you can better support your choice once you know how others feel about issues and hear their claims.
Think Free September 07, 2012 at 07:46 PM
No such thing as a liberal turned Republican. Ken you were Never a liberal. All Republicans can do is lie. But here is what is going on with the polls right now. http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/09/07/gallup-convention-bump-obama_n_1865156.html?utm_hp_ref=elections-2012 a seven point jump for Obama, people are not as dumb as Republicans!
Ken James September 07, 2012 at 08:09 PM
Think Free -- Actually, my 'switch' from liberal to conservative is very common. Most young people are quite idealistic and the liberal philosophy seems to support the idea of "equal rights". When you get older, often you realize that it is 'equal opportunity' that is really the key to your climb from lower to middle to upper class. When you make statements like; "All Republicans can do is lie." your are proving my point. Try listening to the 'other side' so you can honestly make a decision based on your personal evaluation.
Gary T. W September 07, 2012 at 08:25 PM
Keep drinking the Kool-Aid, Lefties. Unless you are part of the 48% of America that is on the take you couldn't possibly support Obama. And if you are part of that 48% you are terrified that the gravy train might end. Keep thinking that unions are the greatest things ever and that government is responsible for picking up the pieces of irresponsible behavior and rewarding it.
Think Free September 07, 2012 at 10:04 PM
Hey liberals, just check out the way these Republicans think. Do you see the same theme. Name calling, accusations without any factual basis. Like the guys that say " you should be shaking in your boots if your one of the 48 percent" utter nonsense. The 48 percent are made up of older , retired, disabled people. A large part of those old people Are Republican and are known to vote against their own interest. .Obama is going to win this, and is bring back the economy from the financial collapse exactly four years ago that 20 years of trickle down economics brought down on the middle class!
Think Free September 07, 2012 at 10:09 PM
And the new polls are showing a seven point bump for Obama. I posted the link but I know the Republican have "drunk the koolade" and cannot understand facts. They believe their own lies and the lies of their talking heads. Keep drinking that koolaide
Scott Dye September 07, 2012 at 11:48 PM
Romney or Obama,,, makes no difference. Which ever party wins the election, the other will do everything in their power to thwart the President and his policies. Neither party has any real credibility when it comes to by-partisanship. It is all finger pointing and the blame game.
Ken James September 08, 2012 at 12:35 AM
Scott... no difference? Well, we know what Obama will do; we have just experienced that. In his recent speech, he promised to stay the course. So at the end of the next 4 years, we'll be further in debt due to high unemployment and more entitlements. With Romney, we'll have someone with a track record of success in business. He will likely eliminate some payments to the unemployed and as a result, they will return to work. Perhaps not their desired job, but to any job for which they are qualified so they can feed their own family. Once more people are employed, the economy will recover. That is the way that recessions have ended over the last 30 years. The reason this one has lasted so long is because we provided incentives for people not to go back to work. If you look at any of the on-line job sites, there is no shortage of jobs available... we have created a shortage of people willing to do those jobs.
Scott Dye September 08, 2012 at 03:57 AM
you missed my point Ken. If Romney gets elected, the Dems will make sure that none of his legislation gets passed, or if it does it is so watered down to be meaningless. Same thing will happen if Obama gets re-elected. Neither party is willing to compromise anymore. It is either their way or the highway. They both are more interested in demonizing the other party then they are in actually doing anything to help the American People.
Tu Quoc Pham September 08, 2012 at 04:08 AM
It;s not that simple. The U.S is the nation of strong economy. Prosperity to the US is like the hair of Sampson and a ball Sampson can only be the slave of China/
Ken James September 08, 2012 at 08:31 AM
Yes, I suppose I did. I agree that the only way we will have any meaningful change is to have the same party in the White House and both houses of Congress.... and look what happened in 2009-2010.
Ken James September 08, 2012 at 08:39 AM
Think free... Who said: "All Republicans can do is lie."? There are people here, and you are among them, who seem to want to merely call names. Some of us would actually like to have a discussion which involves listening to each other respectfully and sharing our opinions. Can you explain what part of Obama's plan you think will bring back the economy?
carolyn September 08, 2012 at 06:51 PM
When we assess Obama's record, we have to consider the "don't let Obama be successful in anything" Congress he was up against. His jobs' bill and every other legislation that could have helped the situation was fillibustered necessitating 60 votes to pass. Since a Republican would have committed political suicide with his party is he voted yea, nothing passed. Nothing was done. Look to those who were not interested in improving the serious problems we confront for their own political purposes. They weren't thinking of the middle class, I can tell you that.
carolyn September 08, 2012 at 06:58 PM
We should worry less about the labels - liberal and conservative - and look at basic philosophies. The right, in any country, in any time period, gears to the corporate state. The left to government based options for those in need. This is overly simplistic to be sure. But instead of calling one group liars and making liberal or conservative a pejorative term, why don't you discuss what you believe in. What you think government should do. What its role it. Name calling is so easy.
Ken James September 08, 2012 at 08:31 PM
Carolyn, we should also consider Obama's attitude toward the minority party after he took office. In a meeting with Republicans to discuss the stimulus package, in a response to a suggestion by a Republican he said; "Elections have consequences... and I won." He made it clear that he didn't need the Republican votes because he had majorities in both the Senate and House... so, no reason to compromise. Voters reacted in 2010 by electing a majority of Republicans to the House, and reducing the Democrat majority in the Senate. Those Republicans ran on, and were elected on, a mandate to stop Obama's plan to keep increasing government entitlements and to reduce the debt. You say that they stopped bills that 'could have helped the situation'. That's your opinion and the Republicans had opinions that were different. Remember last year when there was a discussion to raise taxes? Obama said at that time; "We shouldn't raise taxes on anyone during a weak economy." The economy is weaker now than it was then, yet he is now vowing to raises taxes on those making more than $250K a year which impacts small business owners who are responsibile for most of the job growth. Yes, it's frustrating to watch, but it seem disengenuous to blame Obama's failing on the Republicans who have been there less than 2 years. He refused to compromise when he didn't need their votes, and he still refuses when he must have their votes.
Edbo September 09, 2012 at 12:15 AM
Obama for me.....
Ken James September 09, 2012 at 03:47 AM
A lot of the comments here say about Romney; "He doesn't care about the middle class." I've heard Rachel Maddow and others on MSNBC say that as well as a host of other Democrats. I've heard quite a few speeches from and about Mitt Romney and I haven't heard evidence of that. I'd like to be schooled by those who believe this way. Could you answer a couple of specific questions? 1) Who is the 'middle class' Is this an income threshold? Does it matter how many people in your family you support? 2) What have you learned that has convinced you that he "doesn't care about the middle class? I'm trying to determine if this is just Democrat opposition language or if there is something I've missed about his intentions. Please don't merely send links from a political web site, I'd like to hear your personal view.
Marilyn Love September 14, 2012 at 06:55 AM
OBAMA for me!
John McIntosh September 14, 2012 at 05:05 PM
all of your arguments are blank, you may think you have a good argument, but your opposition will always come back with something to counter it, over and over, no matter what side you are on, it's an endless circle. it's as simple as this : the 2 party system no longer works (efficiently that is) we are screwed, no matter what, there are too many different opinions based on what? there are no facts, NONE. one party has one set of facts, the other party has a completely different set of facts. our political system is nothing more than a pissing match. we have reduced ourselves into picking a side because there are no alternatives, I say nobody in the country votes at all, then we can see how our "democracy" handles that. it'll never work, nothing in this Kindergarten country ever works, when it requires people to be on the same page. Vote for your clowns, it won't matter
Trice Myles September 17, 2012 at 11:37 PM
Dont know if you realize this or not but Republicans are NEVER going to support cutting military spending. As for Romney being a business man, I have a hard time believing anyone who wont show their taxes is trustworthy in finances.
Trice Myles September 17, 2012 at 11:39 PM
What makes you believe Romney is qualified to handled foreign affairs? Does he have a proven track in this area?
David September 26, 2012 at 05:33 AM
Funny no one ever says the real reason they want Obama to win not because of record or anything his really done for this country, bailing out the banks and gm didnt help me out or anyone around me. My neighbors and family membors stuggle to find good jobs its time for something new Mitt Romney for president it's alright if the first aphro american president only has one term liberals need to let it go for the good of the country.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something